New Cabinet Nominated: What is next on the card?

Share with Others

April 18, 2018

The new Ethiopian Prime Minister has nominated 10 new cabinet members while retaining 6 from his predecessor. Abiy told lawmakers, “To respond to public demand a cabinet reshuffle is essential. This follows the change of leadership that was enacted in an attempt to change the existing situation in the country.”

“This is a red line that has to be enforced. What the public is fed up of is graft and maladministration. This will not be tolerated, ” he underlined. The parliament has confirmed the nomination.


The list of cabinet approved by the parliament:

Shiferaw Shigutie Minister of Agriculture and Livestock resource
Sirag Fegessa Minister of Transport
Dr. Hirut Woldemariam- Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
Teshome Toga – Minister of Public Enterprises
Umer Hussien – Authority of Customs and Revenue Director-General (with the rank of minister)
Uba Mohamed – Minister of Information and Communication Technology
Dr. Ambachew Mekonen- Minister of industry
Motuma Mekassa – Minister of Defense
Fozia Amin – Minister of Culture and Tourism
Ahmed Shide – Minister of Government Communication Affairs Office
Jantirar Abay – Minister of Housing and Urban Development
Melese Alemu – Minister of Mines, Petroleum and Natural Gas
Birhanu Tsegaye – Attorney General (with the rank of minister)
Yalem Tsegay- Women and Children Affairs Minister
Melaku Alebel – Minister of Trade
Dr. Amir Aman – Minister of Health

So, the next question is: Is the new prime minister courageous enough to reshuffle the intelligence and the army structure, the two sectors that are allegedly so powerful (untouchable) and corrupt?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *